Absolute Discord
Rules Update Summary v1.0

This document is a summary of the updated rules found in the Comprehensive Rules and
frequently asked rules questions, presented in an easy-to-follow Q & A format.

With the release of Absolute Discord, we expect a number of questions from the community
regarding the new mechanics in the set and how the cards interact with each other. In this
document we have compiled and answered some of the more common questions in order to
minimize any confusion. Additional questions can always be asked at the My Little Pony CCG
Rules Group! Full rules can also be downloaded at http://enter-play.com/products/mlpccg.html

New Concepts
Q: What does Chaos mean?

A: Chaos is a tag word that cards can have that is used to designate a suite of cards that all share
a similar theme. It is not a keyword, and has no specific rules text of its own. The Chaos text is
an ability that functions only while the card is flipped and is formatted so that players across the
table will notice it when flipped.

For example, Spike, The New Rainbow Dash has the game text: “Chaos: When this card is
flipped, it has +2 power until the end of the faceoff. <P> While involved in a faceoff, this card
has +2 power.” When this card is flipped, its ability triggers and Spike gets +2 power until the
end of the faceoff.

Q: What does Epic mean? How is it different from Villain?

A: Starting with Absolute Discord, Epic and Villain are two distinct concepts. This will allow us
to include one or both on the same card!

Epic is a trait that appears on Troublemakers. If a Troublemaker has Epic, it will block both
players from confronting its Problem. If it does not have Epic, that Troublemaker will only block
your opponent. All previous Troublemakers with the Villain keyword have the Epic trait so the
functionality of those Villains will not change.

Troublemakers with the Villain keyword will continue to frighten all Friends at their Problem
when they are uncovered. The keyword Villain means “When this Troublemaker is uncovered,
Frighten each Friend at its Problem.”

For example, one of the really cool interactions in Absolute Discord is between Villains and
Fluttershy, Reformer. Her ability “turns off” Troublmaker abilities. If she was at a Problem and
an Ahuizotl was uncovered there, Ahuizotl would not frighten everything because its abilities



have been turned off. However, because Epic is a trait, not an ability, that Ahuizotl still prevents
both players from confronting that Problem.

Q: What's new with home limits?

A: The home limit printed on a Mane Character card is not a keyword or ability, but a separate
part of the card. (This is important because there are now ways to remove abilities from Mane
Characters, but those ways don't remove home limits.)

Card Specific Questions

Q: How does A Cuddle with a Pekingese (Main Phase: Reveal the top card of your deck and
you may draw it. If the card was a [critter] Friend, you may pay [1] less to play that Friend this
turn and you may draw another card.) work?

A: A player may choose not to draw the revealed card. If they do draw the card, they may choose
to not use the cost reduction when playing that Friend.

Q: How does Ace - Oh Rally (When an opponent's character is moved from here to another
Problem, draw a card and move this card there.) work?

A: This card follows the opposing character to its Problem.

Q: How does Applebuck Season (When this Problem is solved, each player with at least 1
Friend here chooses a Friend here. If that Friend would be sent home, it isn't sent home instead.)
work?

A: Choices are made in turn order. The player who most recently had priority during this priority
window chooses first. If no player has had priority during this priority window, the active player
chooses first.

Q: How does Applejack — Discorded (If an opponent would score this card's Problem's bonus
points, you score them instead.) work?

A: Any card or effect that has a player score a problem's bonus points will be affected by this
card. This effect does not interact with Rarity, Truly Outrageous as she has a player score
points equal to the bonus point value, which is not the same.



Q: How does Applejack - Lasso Champion (When this card enters play, you may exhaust an
opposing character. While this card remains in play, that character does not ready during the
Ready Phase.) work?

A: The character that is exhausted can be readied by cards or effects that ready characters. If this
Friend would become frightened (become a different card), its effect ends, as the original card is
no longer in play.

Q: How does Awkward Silence (Problem Faceoff: End the faceoff.) work?

A: This effect will immediately end the faceoff. No player will win or lose the faceoff. The game
will move forward to the next priority window based on turn progress. Problems do not rotate as
a result of the faceoff unless the faceoff resolved (proceeded to the point at which a winner was
determined).

Q: How does Babs Seed - Bigger Bully (This card's power is equal to double the power of the
opposing character here with the highest power.) work?

A: If multiple opposing characters are tied for the highest power, you may choose any one of the
tied characters. Note that this card has received template errata to say, "This card's power is
equal to double the power of an opposing character here with the highest power."

Q: How does Boulder (Play to your home. <P> Main Phase: While you have no [Orange]
Friends, you may exhaust this card. If you do, this card is also a [Orange] Friend until the end of
the phase.) work as both a Resource and a Friend?

A: While this card is a Friend, it is still a Resource. If this Friend becomes Frightened, it will turn
face down, any attachments on it will be dismissed, and it will become a different card. The
modifier making it a Friend no longer applies and the face-down card is now a Resource. As part
of Pre Priority Processing, face-down Resources are turned face-up.

Q: How does Chaos Capital of the World (Chaos: Turn each Mane Character over. <P> Main
Phase: Turn each character over.) work?

A: Note that this card has received template errata to say, “Chaos: When this card is flipped, turn
each Mane Character over. <P> Main Phase: Turn each character over.” Unfrightened Friends
turned over this way become frightened and, therefore, become different cards. Frightened
Friends turned over this way become unfrightened. Mane characters cannot become frightened;
they are turned over and the opposite side is turned face up.



Q: How does Cheerilee - Break It Up! (Chaos: When this card is flipped, you may end the
faceoff. <P> Faceoff: Retire this card to end the faceoft.) work?

A: This effect will immediately end the faceoff. No player will win or lose the faceoff. The game
will move forward to the next priority window based on turn progress. Problems will not rotate
unless the faceoff resolved (proceeded to the point at which a winner was determined).

Q: How does Cloudchaser - Ready and Willing (Chaos: When this card is flipped, ready a
character involved in the faceoff. <P> When you play this card, you may ready a character.)
work?

A: When you flip this card, readying a character is not optional.

Q: How does Desperately Seeking Spike (When a player confronts this Problem, that player
reveals the top card of their deck. If it’s a Friend, they put it into their hand. Otherwise, they put
it into their discard pile.) work?

A: This effect is not optional and applies to all players.

Q: How do Discord - Artiste de Anarchy, Discord - Down to Earth, Discord - General
Disarray, Discord - Gone Cuckoo, Discord - Sorcerer Supreme, and Discord - Tricksy
(Chaos: When this card is flipped, one of your cards involved in the faceoff gets +2 power until
the end of the faceoff.) work in Troublemaker faceoffs?

A: If you flip one of these cards while an opponent is challenging one of your Troublemakers,
that card's effect will add +2 power to your Troublemaker. If you flip that card while challenging
one of your own Troublemakers, you choose which card to add the +2 power to.

Q: How does Discord - Boosted - Bending the Rules (When you play a card, if you played at
least 2 cards this turn, turn this card over.) work?

A: This effect will trigger any time you play a card and have played at least 2 cards during the
same turn, regardless of whose turn it is.

Q: How does Epic Win (Reaction: After the start of your Troublemaker Phase, defeat an
opponent's Troublemaker.) work?

A: This card is played prior to the uncover step and will resolve. The player playing this card
will receive the points for defeating the Troublemaker.



Q: How does Fluttershy - Boosted - Reformer (Troublemakers here lose and can't have
abilities.) work?

A: The Villain keyword is an ability so Villains uncovered here will not frighten Friends. Epic
Troublemakers will still prevent both players from confronting Problems.

Q: How does Gone Fishin' (Faceoff: Move an opponent's Friend to a Problem. That opponent
may pay [1 action] to copy this effect.) work?

A: Copying the effect will allow the player who is copying it to resolve this effect. The controller
of the Friend they choose to move will also have the ability to copy the effect. This will continue
until a player chooses not to, or cannot pay to copy the effect.

Q: How does Heavy Lifting (No more than 2 of each players' characters can contribute their
power to confronting this Problem.) work?

A: Players do not choose individually which characters contribute their power. If a player could
successfully confront the Problem using only two of their characters, then that player does
confront.

Q: How does Highly Contagious (Each player's home limit is reduced by 1 for each character
that player controls here.) work?

A: As always, in order to meet home limit restrictions, players must retire Friends from home
until they meet those requirements. Characters at this Problem can not be retired due to home
limit. If a player has no Friends at home to retire, the game will move forward

Q: How does Iron Will - Attack the Day (Opposing Friends here lose and can't have abilities.)
work?

A: Friends' abilities are printed in the text box and include game text and keywords.

Q: How does It's a Trap! (Play on a Troublemaker. <P> Players can't challenge that
Troublemaker unless they pay [2].) work?

A: Players will have to pay 2 action tokens in order to challenge a Troublemaker. This is done as
a player chooses to challenge that Troublemaker.



Q: How does Madame le Flour (Play to your home. <P> Main Phase: While you have no
[White] Friends, you may exhaust this card. If you do, this card is also a [White] Friend until the
end of the phase.) work as both a Resource and a Friend?

A: While this card is a Friend, it is still a Resource. If this Friend becomes Frightened, it will turn
face down, any attachments on it will be dismissed, and it will become a different card. The
modifier making it a Friend no longer applies and the face-down card is now a Resource. As part
of Pre Priority Processing, face-down Resources are turned face-up.

Q: How does Mr. Turnip (Play to your home.<P> Main Phase: While you have no [Pink]
Friends, you may exhaust this card. If you do, this card is also a [Pink] Friend until the end of the
phase.) work as both a Resource and a Friend?

A: While this card is a Friend, it is still a Resource. If this Friend becomes Frightened, it will turn
face down, any attachments on it will be dismissed, and it will become a different card. The
modifier making it a Friend no longer applies and the face-down card is now a Resource. As part
of Pre Priority Processing, face-down Resources are turned face-up.

Q: How does Plunderseed Vines (When this Troublemaker is defeated, you may pay [1] to put
another Troublemaker from your hand into play here face-up.

A: The Troublemaker enters play face-up. It is not uncovered and does not trigger any effects
looking for the uncovering of Troublemakers, including the Villain keyword.

Q: How does Princess Luna - Start - Dream Guide (When you discard a card, you may pay [1]
to choose an opponent. That opponent reveals their hand and separates it into two piles. Choose
and banish one pile, then turn this card over.) work?

A: Note that this card has received template errata to say, “When you discard a card, you may
pay [1] and turn this card's Boosted side face up. If you do, choose an opponent. That opponent
reveals their hand and separates it into two piles. Choose and banish one pile.” The chosen
opponent may distribute the cards into the two piles however they like.

Q: How does Queen Chrysalis - Identity Theft (As this card enters play, choose a non-Unique
Friend. This card has the printed abilities of that Friend.) work?

A: This choice is made as this card enters play. If the copied abilities have “enter play” effects,
those will trigger when this card enters play. Note that the chosen Friend must already be in play.



Q: Does Reforming a Draconequus (Troublemakers don't prevent players from confronting this
Problem.) prevent players from being able to confront Troublemakers?

A: Players continue to choose whether or not to challenge Troublemakers at this Problem during
their Troublemaker phase.

Q: How does Repair Team (Play to your home. <P> If another one of your Resources would be
dismissed, you may retire this card instead.) work?

A: Resources dismissed by the game can't be stopped, replaced, or prevented.

Q: How does Risky Business (Main Phase: Search an opponent's deck for a Friend and set it
aside face-down. That opponent names a card and you reveal that Friend. If that Friend is the
named card, that opponent may put it into play under his control. If not, you may put it into
play.) work?

A: Essentially, this card is a guessing game. The face down card is not public until it is revealed.
Naming a card does not require a player to know the exact name. But the player must be able to
uniquely identify a specific card by its traits, abilities, or other characteristic.

Q: How does Rocky (Play to your home.<P> Main Phase: While you have no [Yellow] Friends,
you may exhaust this card. If you do, this card is also a [ Yellow] Friend until the end of the
phase.) work as both a Resource and a Friend?

A: While this card is a Friend, it is still a Resource. If this Friend becomes Frightened, it will turn
face down, any attachments on it will be dismissed, and it will become a different card. The
modifier making it a Friend no longer applies and the face-down card is now a Resource. As part
of Pre Priority Processing, face-down Resources are turned face-up.

Q: How does Scootaloo - Practice Makes Perfect (Chaos: While this card is flipped, opponents
can't score points. <P> During faceoffs involving this card, players can't score points.) work?

A: These abilities exist during the faceoff. Confronting a Problem occurs before any faceoffs, so
the point for confronting and the bonus points for being the first to confront are not affected by
this card.

Q: How does Sir Lintsalot (Play to your home. <P> Main Phase: While you have no [Blue]
Friends, you may exhaust this card. If you do, this card is also a [Blue] Friend until the end of the
phase.) work as both a Resource and a Friend?



A: While this card is a Friend, it is still a Resource. If this Friend becomes Frightened, it will turn
face down, any attachments on it will be dismissed, and it will become a different card. The
modifier making it a Friend no longer applies and the face-down card is now a Resource. As part
of Pre Priority Processing, face-down Resources are turned face-up.

Q: How does Smarty Pants (Play to your home.<P> Main Phase: While you have no [Purple]
Friends, you may exhaust this card. If you do, this card is also a [Purple] Friend until the end of
the phase.) work as both a Resource and a Friend?

A: While this card is a Friend, it is still a Resource. If this Friend becomes Frightened, it will turn
face down, any attachments on it will be dismissed, and it will become a different card. The
modifier making it a Friend no longer applies and the face-down card is now a Resource. As part
of Pre Priority Processing, face-down Resources are turned face-up.

Q: How does Spooky Scary Story (Chaos: When this card is flipped, frighten a Friend at home.
<P> Main Phase: Frighten up to 2 Friends at home.) work?

A: When you flip this card, the frighten effect is not optional.

Q: How does Tom - Rolling Rock (Chaos: When this card is flipped, dismiss a Friend with 2 or
less power involved in the faceoff. <P> When this card enters play, you may dismiss a Friend.)
work?

A: When you flip this card, the dismiss effect is not optional.

Q: How does Tracking Tirek (At the start of a Problem faceoff here, the player with the most
power here puts one of their Friends here on top of its owner's deck.) work?

A: If players are tied, then there is not a player with the most power here.

Q: How does Trenderhoof — Trailblazer (Cards in play have Unique.) work?

A: Uniqueness violations pause the game and must be corrected before the game can move
forward. (Problem cards are effected by this ability, but since each player only has one copy of
any given Problem in play at a time, those cards will never be in violation.)



